Career Services Office Officially Named

The J. Willard and Alice S. Marriott Foundation has joined forces with the Chaplin School of Hospitality & Tourism Management’s Career Development Office, and officially names the program. The J. Willard and Alice S. Marriott Foundation Career Services Program, as it will be called, will continue to provide assistance with internship and career placement opportunities for students and alumni. This partnership will provide additional resources to develop mentoring programs designed to improve student leadership skills, enhance employer engagement and student recruitment, while improving the tracking methods that measure the success of these programs.

Two Chaplin School Faculty Members Earn Best Paper Award at International Conference

Dr. Miranda Kitterlin and Dr. Michelle Yoo received the Best Paper Award for their work, "Festival Motivation and Loyalty Factors" at the TMS Algarve 2013 – Tourism & Management Studies International Conference held in Algarve, Portugal in November. The study, which was conducted on South Beach Wine & Food Festival participants, will be published in the upcoming issue of Tourism & Management Studies. Chaplin's Danqing Liu and Dr. Nancy Scanlon also presented at the conference.

Dean Angelo Named 2013 Tourism Professional of the Year

Associate Dean Rocco Angelo was announced as the winner of the 23rd Annual South Florida Tourism Professional of the Year Award by the Academy of Hospitality and Tourism (AOHT) on November 19 at the Hyatt Regency Miami. The annual award honors a community leader who has made long-term and significant contributions to the hospitality and tourism community in South Florida. The AOHT operates in 14 public high schools in Miami-Dade County Public Schools. The AOHT is also a member of the Career and Technical Education office of the Miami-Dade County Public Schools and the nonprofit National Academy Foundation, which supports partnerships between business and public schools to develop students for college and careers.