The Professor Michael E. Hurst Distinguished Hospitality Leaders Lecture Series

José E. Cil, Chief Executive Officer, Restaurant Brands International

Tuesday, October 11, 2022
5:00 P.M.–7:00 P.M.
Hospitality Management Classroom 135

RSVP today

About the Speaker
José E. Cil is Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of Restaurant Brands International Inc. (RBI) and has set out to build the most loved restaurant brands in the world: BURGER KING®, TIM HORTONS® and POPEYES®. He brings to the role a 20-year track record of results-driven leadership at Burger King, most recently serving as Global President. Today, RBI generates $32 billion in system-wide-sales, offering an exceptional guest experience in each one of its 27,000+ restaurants in more than 100 countries and territories.

José was formerly on the board of directors for Carrols Restaurant Group, Inc., Burger King’s largest franchisee and served as Co-Chairman of the Burger King McLamore Foundation, an organization that creates brighter futures through education and emergency relief. He is also an active member of the Florida Council of 100, a group dedicated to promoting the economic growth of Florida. Earlier in his career, José held the position of Vice President and Regional General Manager for Wal-Mart Stores, Inc. in Florida.

He is a graduate of Tulane University and started his career practicing law after earning his Juris Doctor degree from the University of Pennsylvania Law School.


Professor Michael E. Hurst

Professor Hurst was a founding faculty member of the Florida International University Chaplin School of Hospitality & Tourism Management. In 1996, combining his business acumen and a vision for sharing industry leaders’ successes with future industry leaders, he created the Distinguished Hospitality Leaders Lecture Series. As a tribute to Professor Hurst, this endowed lecture series, named in his honor, continues to provide an occasion to create a bridge between the school and the hospitality industry.

Learn more about Professor Hurst

View past lecture series speakers


Support the Chaplin School

As a donor, you play an important role in what happens at Chaplin, today and tomorrow. From funding scholarships to supporting students in their college experience through graduation, to investing in faculty and programs that will disrupt and transform the industry as we know it - all gifts help advance initiatives that benefit our future leaders. Every donor to the Chaplin School of Hospitality & Tourism Management contributes to the fulfillment of our students, the richness of our community programs, and the advancements we make as an institution.